Click here for Full Mobile site

Blog Entry# 3416674
Posted: May 14 (14:16)

4 Responses
Last Response: May 21 (13:25)
★  Info Update
Useful: 11
May 14 (14:16)  

1802590/sreerup kol^~   8471 blog posts   1289 correct pred (71% accurate)
What are different waiting list terms used in IRCTC?
1. GNWL: General Waiting List (GNWL) waitlisted tickets are issued when the passenger begins his/her journey at the originating station of a route or stations close to the originating station. This is most common type of waiting list and has got the highest chances of confirmation.
2. RLWL: Remote Location Waiting List (RLWL) means ticket is issued for intermediate stations (between the originating and terminating stations) because usually these are the most important towns or cities on that particular route. This type of tickets will be given a separate priority and confirmations will depend on the cancellations of a destination confirmed ticket. Remote location stations prepare there own chart 2-3 hours before the actual departure of train. For this type of ticket there are less chances of confirmation.
3. PQWL: A Pooled Quota Waiting List (PQWL) is shared by several small stations. Pooled Quotas normally operate only from the originating station of a route, and there is only one Pooled Quota for the entire run. The Pooled Quota is generally allotted for passengers travelling from the originating station to a station short of the terminating station, or from an intermediate station to the terminating station, or between two intermediate stations.
4. RLGN: Remote Location General Waiting List (RLGN) is issued when a user books a ticket where WL quota is RLWL. This means after ticket booking RLWL gets named as RLGN.
5. RSWL: Roadside Station Waiting List (RSWL) is allotted when berths or seats are booked by the originating station for journeys up to the road-side station and distance restrictions may not apply. This waiting list has also very less chances of confirmation.
6. RQWL: If a ticket is to be booked from an intermediate station to another intermediate station, and if it is not covered by the general quota or by the remote location quotas or pooled quota, the request for the ticket may go into a Request Waiting List (RQWL).
7. TQWL or Tatkal waiting list: For tatkal tickets, the waiting list issued is TQWL. If tatkal ticket goes up, it directly gets confirmed and doesn’t go through RAC status unlike GNWL. During chart preparation, general waiting list (GNWL) is preferred over tatkal waiting list (CKWL) therefore tatkal waitlisted tickets are less likely to get confirmed.

Very useful...
Also DPWL - Privilege pass for Railway employees. While they get confirm tickets in most of the trains, in Rajdhani and Duronto max of 3 seats in 2A and 6 seats in 3A are for privilege passes. When we book 2A in Raj using privilege pass, the ticket status will be DPWL 1 even when tickets are available. The status will be the same till the chart preparation. Only the TTE can confirm the seat. For 3A, a similar case, but out of the 6 seats, 3 will be cnf while booking and the next 3 will be in dpwl state. This DPWL has the lowest priority
Well, these are the basic ones. Special Quotas will be discussed in another blog.
People holding Privilege Passes know about the basic WL Quotas. This blog is for the people who do not know about the basic quotas also.
Go to Full Mobile site